The University of Birmingham Hong Kong Postgraduate Scholarships


Brief History and Aim

The scholarship, which was established in 1985, enables the selected candidates to pursue one-year Masters degree programmes at the University of Birmingham in the United Kingdom. The selected candidates are expected to make contribution to the community of Hong Kong after the completion of their studies.

Eligibility

Applicants should :

  1. have resided in Hong Kong for at least 7 years preceding 1 October 2014;

  2. be holders of a degree (or expect to gain a degree before September 2014) from any institutions of tertiary education in Hong Kong;

  3. have applied for admission to the University of Birmingham through the University's normal admissions procedures by 25 April 2014;

  4. be eligible for admission to their intended course of study at the University of Birmingham
    (Note: the scholarship award will only be confirmed when the candidate has been offered a place at the University. The offer of a scholarship is not a guarantee of admission to the University);

  5. be able to provide evidence satisfactory to the University of an adequate knowledge of written and spoken English;

  6. not have previously studied in the United Kingdom; and

  7. be able to fund the remaining costs of their studies at Birmingham including living costs from other sources.

Value of Awards

The University of Birmingham Hong Kong Postgraduate Scholarships - one scholarship for one-year Masters programmes. The scholarship is a tuition fee award, worth up to the cost of a laboratory based course which is paid directly to the University of Birmingham.

Method of Application

Application forms can be downloaded from this Agency's website (FlyersDownload PDF file format, Application FormsDownload PDF file format and Reference RequestsDownload PDF file format) or obtained from the Student Financial Assistance Agency by mail (Address: Room 1217, 12/F., Cheung Sha Wan Government Offices, 303 Cheung Sha Wan Road, Kowloon). Please supply a HK$3 stamped and self-addressed A-4 sized envelope for reply.  Two copies of the completed application form and all supporting documents are to be returned to the Agency by 25 April 2014.

Dates of Commencement and Closing of Application

Commencement : 18 December 2013

Closing : 25 April 2014

Source of Further Information

For further information, please refer to the FlyersDownload PDF file format of the University of Birmingham Hong Kong Postgraduate Scholarships. Enquiries should be made to the University of Birmingham Hong Kong Postgraduate Scholarships Selection Committee, Room 1217, 12/F., Cheung Sha Wan Government Offices, 303 Cheung Sha Wan Road , Kowloon at telephone number 2150 7605 or email saosgl@sfaa.gov.hk.

英國伯明翰大學研究生香港獎學金


簡史及宗旨

這項獎學金在1985年設立,目的是使獲選的學生,有機會在英國伯明翰大學攻讀一年制碩士課程。獲資助的學生在學成返港後,應為香港社會作出貢獻。

申請資格

申請人必須:

  1. 於2014年10月1日前在香港居住滿最少七年;

  2. 在本港任何一間專上教育院校取得(或預期會於2014年9月前取得)學位的人士;

  3. 於2014年4月25日前透過伯明翰大學的正常入學程序申請入讀該大學;

  4. 符合擬修讀伯明翰大學課程的入學資格(注意:待申請人獲該大學取錄後,遴選委員會才會確認頒發獎學金的決定。提出頒授獎學金予申請人,並不保證申請人能夠入讀該大學。);

  5. 能提出證據,令該大學信納其具有足夠的英語講寫能力;

  6. 未曾在英國留學;以及

  7. 能從其他資源支付在伯明翰大學就讀所需剩餘的費用,包括生活費。

獎學金款額

伯明翰大學研究生獎學金──設一個獎學金,以供修讀一年制碩士課程。獎學金金額會直接付給伯明翰大學作繳交學費之用途。

申請辦法

申請表格可從本辦事處網頁下載(小冊子下載PDF檔案格式申請表格下載PDF檔案格式推薦人表格下載PDF檔案格式)或經郵遞方式向學生資助辦事處索取(地址:九龍長沙灣道303號長沙灣政府合署12樓1217室)。有意申請者請附上貼有港幣三元郵票的回郵信封。申請人須填妥一式兩份表格,連同有關證明文件副本,於2014年4月25日前交回本辦事處。

接受及截止申請日期

一般申請時間

接受申請 : 2013年12月18日

截止申請 : 2014年4月25日

查詢更詳盡的資料

詳情請參閱英國伯明翰大學香港研究生小冊子下載PDF檔案格式。如有查詢,請與英國伯明翰大學研究生香港獎學金遴選委員會聯絡。地址:九龍長沙灣道303 號長沙灣政府合署12 1217 室;電話:2150 7605 ;電子郵箱 saosgl@sfaa.gov.hk